Wednesday , March 3 2021
Home / Motor Sports (page 30)

Motor Sports

MotoGP “disappointed” with paddock members breaking bubble

MotoGP has been operating tight COVID-19 prevention measures this season, which have included smaller paddock numbers, regular testing and a bubble system to stop interaction within the paddock. As part of its protocol for back-to-back races at the same circuit, Dorna asks all personnel to remain within the circuit/hotel bubble for the entirety of two events – without travel outside of ...Keep reading

Read More »

Teruel GP winner Morbidelli felt race “lasted only two laps”

The Petronas SRT rider stormed to his second win of the 2020 season in Sunday’s second Aragon race, after leading every lap and beating Suzuki’s Alex Rins by over two seconds. Morbidelli now moves closer to the championship lead, with his deficit just 25 points coming into the final three rounds. The Italian says this was “perhaps the best race of my life” and the race “slipped ...Keep reading

Read More »

Nissan winner Matsuda’s shock at taking Suzuka lead

Matsuda was able to begin his stint at the head of the field as a mid-race safety car fell at the perfect time for he and NISMO teammate Ronnie Quintarelli, who had started the race from the back of the GT500 field following Matsuda’s qualifying crash. Quintarelli, who had been running 12th, ducked into the pits at the end of lap 22 of 53, moments before a collision between the #3 B-Max/NDDP ...Keep reading

Read More »

Rick Kelly retires from racing Supercars

The 37-year-old has been a Supercars regular since 2002, starting out with Holden's Young Lions programme and the Walkinshaw-run K-Mart Racing Team, before he and brother Todd set up the standalone Kelly Racing squad in 2009. He's been a KR driver ever since, racing Holdens, factory-backed Nissans and, as of this year, a Ford Mustang along the way. During his full-time career Kelly has ...Keep reading

Read More »

McLaughlin upbeat despite crash on debut

McLaughlin, who will join Team Penske full-time in the US series next season, made steady progress in the first half of the race, moving from his 21st starting spot to 17th. However his cameo appearance came to an abrupt end on a Lap 47 restart, an attempt at passing Marco Andretti leading to contact that tipped the Kiwi into a spin. That left him him in the path of Rinus Veekay, the ...Keep reading

Read More »

Dixon elated with sixth title, for Newgarden loss is bittersweet

Newgarden and Dixon survived an often chaotic and bruising 100-lap Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg to move from eighth and 11th on the grid to finish first and third respectively. But the Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda driver’s lead going into the race was enough to leave him with a 16-point cushion at the head of the championship table. Even with Newgarden of Team Penske-Chevrolet winning ...Keep reading

Read More »

Snetterton BTCC: Turkington goes two for two

Once again, Turkington led all the way and set fastest lap in his West Surrey Racing-run BMW 330i M Sport, meaning he has harvested a maximum score to date over the Norfolk weekend. The race followed the pattern of so many of Turkington’s wins, the Northern Irishman keeping a snaking train of rivals behind him for the first few laps while he warmed up his tyres and then pulling out a ...Keep reading

Read More »

Spa 24 Hours: Porsche wins after late charge from Tandy

Tandy propelled the best of the German team's Porsche 911 GT3-Rs to the front after taking over from Bamber early in the 21st hour of double-points round of the GT World Challenge Europe. Tandy was fifth after the race went green with two and half hours to go at the start of the charge that took the Rowe car through to victory. He moved past the AF Corse Ferrari 488 GT3 Evo of ...Keep reading

Read More »

MotoGP on TV today – How can I watch the Teruel Grand Prix?

What time does the Teruel MotoGP start today? The Aragon GP will get underway at 1pm local time. Please note that daylight saving ended in Europe overnight. The race distance is set at 23 laps. Date: Sunday, 25th October, 2020 Start time: 1:00pm CET / 12:00pm BST / 8:00am ET / 5:00am PT / 5:30pm IST / 9pm JST / 10pm AEST Can’t find your country or ...Keep reading

Read More »

Suzuka Super GT: NISMO duo take surprise win from last

Consigned to 15th on the GT500 grid after Matsuda’s heavy crash in qualifying, the fortunes of the #23 crew were transformed by a mid-race safety car period that was deployed just after Quintarelli had pitted to hand over to Matsuda. Quintarelli had been running in 12th place at the start of the pitstop phase, but was one of the last two drivers to make his mandatory stop on ...Keep reading

Read More »